NZWPW: Woodgate wins Over the Top Battle Royal

“Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate surprised everyone in Wainuiomata this past Saturday when he outlasted 16 other men to win NZWPW’s annual Over the Top Battle Royal, and receive an NZWPW Championship match at Power Play.

Woodgate entered the Over the Top Battle Royal at number five, but stayed away from the ring until JC Star, his Nobodies stablemate, joined the match as its 11th entrant.

Ben Mana—unable to beat “Rufguts” Roddy Gunn in an NZWPW Championship match held earlier in the night—was the last man to enter the match, and soon cleared the ring until just he, Star and Woodgate remained.

The Nobodies immediately ganged up on Mana and pressed him against the ropes until NZWPW Champion Rufguts left the announcers’ table and hurtled to the ring.

Rufguts helped Star and Woodgate to fling Mana over the top rope, but Mana managed to take Star with him to the outside, leaving “Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate as the last man standing and the winner of the match.

Referee Chris Ferguson called for the bell while Dream Catcher and Rufguts engaged in an uneasy staredown before embracing and raising each others’ hands.

It is unclear whether Rufguts and Woodgate will actually wrestle one another for the NZWPW Championship but regardless of the outcome, the road to Power Play is now filled with intrigue after the events of Saturday night.

NZWPW Over the Top Results:

  • Shane Sinclair def. Mikey
  • Axl def. El Condor and Skull Kid
  • NZWPW Tag Team Championship:
    The Wainui Express (Hayden Thiele & Jade Priest) (c) w/ Paul Sayers def. The Nobodies (“Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate & JC Star)
  • Rodeo Drive (Bryant, Chad Howard & Charlie Roberts) def. Dan Stryker, Kauri Walker & Kingston Eclipse
  • NZWPW Championship:
    “Rufguts” Roddy Gunn (c) w/ “Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate & JC Star def. Ben Mana
  • Over the Top Battle Royal:
    “Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate eliminated Ben Mana to win