Mana offers advice for tomorrow’s Over the Top Battle Royal

NZWPW returns to Wainuiomata for its annual Over the Top Battle Royal tomorrow night, with 20 men fighting for the right to an NZWPW Championship match in the main event of Power Play.

Ben Mana knows the match better than most, as a two-time Over the Top winner.

“It is a significant event in NZWPW,” he told NZPWI.

“It takes you on a journey towards the main event of the biggest show in NZWPW, Power Play for the richest prize in New Zealand wrestling, the NZWPW Heavyweight Championship.”

Two men will begin the Over the Top Battle Royal, with another entering the match every 90 seconds until all 20 competitors have stepped through the ropes. Elimination occurs when a wrestler is thrown over the top rope, with both of their feet touching the floor.

“If there is any advice I can give for this year’s competitors it would be kia kaha, stand strong, and if you win, embrace the journey you will embark on,” Mana said.

“Oh, and one last piece of advice: if I am unsuccessful in regaining the NZWPW title on Saturday, kia tupato, beware! Because I will be back in the Over the Top match to win it for a historic third time in a row.”

In addition to the loser of Ben Mana vs. “Rufguts” Roddy Gunn—scheduled to take place earlier in the night—the Over the Top Battle Royal will feature a who’s who of Wellington’s wrestling scene, including Chad Howard, Charlie Roberts, JC Star, Mikey, and KPW Champion Shane Sinclair.

NZWPW Over the Top takes place tomorrow, August 9, at the Wainuiomata Memorial Hall. Click here for a map. Doors open at 7pm with the first match scheduled for 7.30pm. Tickets are available on the door ($15 for adults, $10 for children). The card, subject to change, is listed below.

NZWPW Over the Top Card:

  • Over the Top Battle Royal:
    Axl vs. Bryant vs. Chad Howard vs. Charlie Roberts vs. Dan Stryker vs. “Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate vs. El Condor vs. Hayden Thiele vs. Jade Priest vs. JC Star vs. Kauri Walker vs. Kingston Eclipse vs. Mikey vs. Shane Sinclair vs. Skull Kid vs. ??? vs. ??? vs. ??? vs. ??? vs. ???
  • NZWPW Championship:
    “Rufguts” Roddy Gunn (c) vs. Ben Mana
  • NZWPW Tag Team Championship:
    The Wainui Express (c) vs. The Nobodies
  • Dan Stryker, Kauri Walker & Kingston Eclipse vs. Rodeo Drive
  • Axl vs. El Condor vs. Skull Kid