No. 1 Contenders determined in Tag Team Turmoil tonight

160423_openfireEight teams compete for a shot at the KPW and NZWPW tag team titles tonight in the main event of Maniacs United Open Fire.

A mixture of established teams (like El Oro Maximo & Shadow Ninja, and Rebels Inc) and new alliances (like Curtis Castlewood & Graham Hughes, and opponents-turned-partners Devin Lockhart & Frankie Quinn) have stepped up to take part in the Tag Team Tumoil bout.

Tag Team Turmoil operates in similar fashion to a gauntlet, with two teams beginning the match and a new team entering when one has been eliminated. This continues until one team is left standing, and declared number one contenders to the KPW and NZWPW Tag Team Championships.

But despite a big win tonight, whoever is victorious in Tag Team Turmoil will ultimately become losers, according to one half of the tag team champs, Chad Howard.

“The winners [of Tag Team Turmoil] are the losers,” he said regarding their eventual title match,”because I don’t plan to lose anything!”

Maniacs United Open Fire takes place today, April 23, at Henderson Valley School, 389 Henderson Valley Road, Auckland. The event starts at 5.45pm. Tickets are available on the door ($20 adults, $10 children). The card, subject to change, is listed below.

Maniacs United Open Fire Card:

  • #1 Contender’s Tag Team Turmoil Match to the KPW & NZWPW Tag Team Championship:
    Ben Brooks & Jason Brody vs. The Buggane & JPE vs. Curtis Castlewood & Graham Hughes vs. Devin Lockhart & Frankie Quinn vs. El Oro Maximo & Shadow Ninja vs. Rebels Inc vs. ??? vs. ???
  • Curtis Castlewood vs. Paul Sayers
  • Rufguts vs. Scarlett
  • The Buggane vs. Jason Brody