NZPWI Home Page Our talented list of writers always have something interesting to say - read their Blogs now! All of the latest news and results from the New Zealand professional wrestling scene Get the latest Television results - in New Zealand time! Get the latest PPV previews and results! NZPWI has interviewed some of the greats - listen now! Get the latest information on pro-wrestling Tours to New Zealand! Read our comprehensive range of Reviews! Get the latest news and rumours on our Newsboard! Interact with other New Zealand pro-wrestling fans! Click here to check out NZPWI's Youtube Channel! Click here for NZPWI's RSS Feed! Follow NZPWI on Facebook! Follow NZPWI on Twitter!
Home arrow Stories arrow NZWPW: Tag Team Titles reinstated at Te Araroa
NZWPW: Tag Team Titles reinstated at Te Araroa
Written by David Dunn   
Apr 13, 2009 at 10:40 PM

NZWPW shook the East Coast with two massive shows this past weekend; most notably making their tag team championship official once again.

CD and former NZWPW Champion Jimmy Sparx took to the ring for an ‘unofficial’ title match against the Circus of Tragedy, but refused to wrestle because of the Circus’ ridiculous rulebook. With fans growing restless at the hold up in the action, Ben Mana and Tykade hit the ring but surprisingly agreed with CD and Sparx. With four of NZWPW’s biggest names voicing their displeasure in the middle of the ring, NZWPW’s CWO made the historic call to reinstate the tag team titles and have CD & Sparx wrestle Mana & Tykade later that night for the #1 Contendership!

CD tried hard to leave as a winner, having been screwed out of the titles twice before, but when Tykade bloodied Jimmy Sparx with a clothesline it became apparent CD and “Mr. Right Now” may have underestimated their opponents. The desperate duo contemplated getting counted out, but forced themselves to continue the match. Ben Mana swooped in and took out Jimmy Sparx with the Mana Slam leaving Tykade to pick off CD with the Game Over.

As such, Mana & Tyakde advance to face the Circus of Tragedy at Power Play 6 for the official NZWPW Tag Team Championship! With the belts being recognised by NZWPW once more, the Circus won’t be able to use their rulebook to escape a beating. Can they win fair and square, or will fans see a new set of champs come April 23?

NZWPW Te Araroa Results:

  • Zodiak def. Little Joker
  • Misty def. Matariki
  • “Shining” Nick Silver def. Travis Banks
  • Adam Avalanche def. “Dream Catcher” Phil Woodgate
  • Rufguts def. O’Siris
  • #1 Contendership to the NZWPW Tag Team Championship:
    Ben Mana & Tykade def. CD & Jimmy Sparx

Saturday, April 19
- WWE Raw (10.15am, the BOX)

Sunday, April 20
- WWE Raw (3.45pm, the BOX)

- WWE Main Event (6.15pm, the BOX)

- WWE SmackDown (7.05pm, the BOX)

- WWE Main Event (11.50pm, the BOX)

Copyright © 1999-2014 | Terms & Legal | Links | Contributors | About Us | Contact Us